The Universal Separatist

The Apartment

Posted in Uncategorized by alexandrosegade on July 6, 2011

The Other Boys & Other Stories, Pieter Performance Art Space Dance, 2010

THE APARTMENT

Lights and cars visible through a window… Taliban, in his 20s, opens door to the apartment, wearing his uniform.

TALIBAN
Hello?

He plugs his module into the end-table. Music plays. Taliban looks around the apartment. It’s messy.

TALIBAN
I thought you said you were going to do the dishes… You home? God, this song is barf.
Song changes.
TALIBAN
Oh this is my jam.

MOTHER stands in the doorway, staring at him. She is a cyborg and appears younger than she is.

TALIBAN
Mom, you scared me.

MOTHER
Son.

TALIBAN
I wasn’t doing anything that weird.

MOTHER
Taliban.

TALIBAN
Do you like that song?

MOTHER
Your father always said he felt like he was being punished for something he didn’t do.

TALIBAN
He’s a foreigner.

MOTHER
He’s cursed. Beautiful boys are trouble.

TALIBAN
We run the world, ma.

TALIBAN starts getting dressed, putting on a trendy club outfit.

MOTHER
I don’t like the vibe of your outfit.

TALIBAN
I’m not trying to impress you.

MOTHER
It’s illegal to wear baseball hats backwards.

TALIBAN
I borrowed some of your lipstick.

MOTHER
What’s the matter with you?

TALIBAN
I’m too stylish.

MOTHER
Bleep.

TALIBAN takes off his hat, checks his outfit out in the mirror, puts his collar down.

MOTHER
He’s here.

The door swings open. FATHER wears a military industrial uniform. He sees TALIBAN, looks his outfit over, and throws himself on the floor.

FATHER
No! Why? Why? NO.

MOTHER
Do you want something to eat?

FATHER takes TALIBAN by the shoulders.

FATHER
My son, my only son, what are you doing?

TALIBAN
Dad, I can’t fucking wear a uniform to the club!

FATHER
The club? The club! I don’t think you should go. The clones, they will take you away. I can see you in the jail cell, all alone.

TALIBAN
I already told Death Baby Lady Jihad I would meet him there. Setting me up with two rich guys, she said.

FATHER
Outlaws! They will get themselves killed in six months. They will taze them until their verbous system breaks down, and throw them in the river.

TALIBAN
Please. That’s just a program you saw on the holoscreen.

MOTHER
Respect your father’s psychic abilities, Taliban.

TALIBAN
If dad is so psychic, how come we live in such a horrible apartment?

FATHER
I always knew I’d be poor.

TALIBAN
That doesn’t make it right.

MOTHER
Dinner.

TALIBAN
I’m on too over-stimulated to eat right now.

MOTHER
We’re all on amphetamines, but we still have to eat.

FATHER
I can afford barely to feed you. I make 7 million dollars a day. This apartment costs 82 billion dollars a month.

TALIBAN
When I go out tonight, I am going to pick up two guys and hopefully they will be famous and maybe I will let them tag team me.

MOTHER
I’d give you all my money if you wanted it.

FATHER
Your mother works to feed you too, and it isn’t so easy for her, because she is a cyborg, and she makes people nervous at the hospital she works at in the cafeteria because they see her and they are afraid they will be like her, hooked by a machine. She faces prejudice every day. She wants you to have food and she wants you to have insurance, and we want you to live and be good. You do not need to wear your hat sideways. And this is why I will see you in jail when you go out tonight.

TALIBAN
I can’t eat. You want to squirt shit all over satin sheets when they double penetrate me?

MOTHER
I made protein slabs. Your body will absorb most of it, with minimal waste.

TALIBAN
Great.

MOTHER
I made some breadfoam too, but you can skip it.

TALIBAN
My mother is a thing. She exists only to serve me. Right now, I need to douche. Mom, enema time, let’s get the show on the road.

TALIBAN goes into the bathroom with his MOTHER.

FATHER
It was at that time, when the mutations began, and while certain populations were quarantined, others became useful. It was very hard for me back in my homeland of Lithuania. I was always too talkative to live there, and the jobs I had were never very good. I went to school during the Reproductive Wars, and learned how to predict futures, which is what I do now, for the private shadow government. I am only allowed to talk to certain people, and I have to carry a chip in my leg, which gets irritated and needs to be disinfected often, because although I am employed by the powers that be, my status is not that of a citizen, and so that is my fate. All the Lithuanians became psychic. We got flown around the world to be used by corporate interests. We can see everything what is coming, and no one can change it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

